American ME

Pride comes before destruction, and an arrogant spirit before a fall. – Proverbs 16:18 http://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=Proverbs16:18&version=HCSB

Yes, it is American ME, from the top down.  President Trump boasts about all the ideas he claims to have originated.  He’s got a really good brain after all.  

Then there’s me on the other end of the pile.  I’m of no consequence, I’m certainly not POTUS, but I sure like my ego stroked just like President Trump.  I’m no different really.  I don’t work hard at being arrogant like some do, e.g. Rush Limbaugh and his tag line “talent on loan from God.”  I know, it’s just Rush’ schtick right?  Wrong.  It’s unrestrained hubris.  Call a spade a spade.  

But I’m no different at my core, at least at my dead core that still wants to act like it’s in charge.  I wrestle at times with wanting my way in my time in the manner I want it done because . . . the sun revolves around me, not my planet revolving around the sun.

Oh how totally different Jesus was.  He never wrestled with pride.  He was tempted to be proud, but He never succumbed.  Oh how unlike me. I wrestle to keep myself off the throne even though I know full well Jesus alone deserves the crown. 

What an idiot I am at those times.  I’m not alone.  Just look in the mirror.  Be honest with yourself.  Deep down, in our core, we are all self-preservationists, ego-strokers, hubristic self-worshipers.  If you think I’m wrong, go talk to your favorite counselor about the concept of “denial” because you’re swimming in it.

The only cure for pride is self-denial.  Deny yourself, pick up your cross, and follow Jesus.

Leave a Reply

